Race to zero dialogues: Nature’s place in the race

Thursday 5th November 2020

1_N4C RTZ_Social landscape_logos

In partnership with the Race to Zero Dialogues, Nature4Climate and IUCN invite you to join the following live event.

Nature’s Place in the Race is a series of live events featuring dialogues from across the full nature based solutions spectrum. Join us to explore the role nature can play in achieving net-zero emissions by 2050.

LINE UP

SESSION 1 – 12PM GMT // 7AM EST
Nature’s Place in the Race: Opening Session

Our understanding of nature’s role in the fight against climate change, as well as the full range of benefits that nature-based solutions deliver for people around the world is now commonly accepted. To build on this momentum, the Nature’s Place in the Race opening session will encourage dialogues from across the full nature-based solutions spectrum, setting the scene for a day dedicated to the pivotal role of nature in the Race to Zero.

This event is led by Nature4Climate, IUCN and Business for Nature.

 



SESSION 2 – 1:15PM GMT // 8:15AM EST
Nature’s Place in the Race: Collective Action for Forest-Positive Commodity Supply Chains

In 2020 – the critical year for forests – this session brings together leading private sector and civil society voices to mobilize forest positive action in the Race to Zero, take stock of progress made in reducing commodity-driven deforestation, and demonstrate how the forests and commodities community is moving from incremental individual action to transformational collective action.

This event is led by the Tropical Forest Alliance / World Economic Forum.

 



SESSION 3 – 2:30PM GMT // 9:30AM EST
Nature’s Place in the Race: Landscapes in Action

This session will bring together government, civil society and private sector voices to link ambitious aspirations for forests as the most mature nature-based solution over the coming decade, with issues of supply and demand, in order to advance the agenda towards COP26 and beyond.

This event is led by UN-REDD.

 



SESSION 4 – 3:45PM GMT // 10:45AM EST
Nature’s Place in the Race: The Business Case

This event will present the case of private sector actors leading in the implementation of forest related NbS to achieve Paris Agreement goals. It will showcase private sector’s contributions to tackling climate mitigation and adaptation through NbS and ecosystem-base approaches, demonstrating the feasibility and business case for nature and climate protection.

This session is led by CDP.

 



SESSION 5 – 5PM GMT // 12PM EST
Nature’s Place in the Race: A Regenerative and Circular Economy

This session will discuss the role of business actors in promoting regenerative and circular practices. We ground ourselves in the current capacity and constraints of nature-based solutions before hearing from four different levels of business actors to understand how young entrepreneurs and small businesses can help ratchet up state-level ambition.

This session is led by Oxford University.

 



SESSION 6 – 6:15PM GMT // 1:15PM EST

Nature’s Place in the Race Closing Session: A Call to Action

We will celebrate the critical role non-state actors have played in elevating the importance of nature in both adaptation and mitigation ambition, and to scale specific nature-based solutions. A ‘Call To Action’ will be presented which delineates specific acts we each must do by COP26 to realize the systemic change promised by nature-based solutions.

This session is led by WWF.

REGISTER HERE

Share